If a user gets expunged due to abuse, what info gets expunged?

If a user gets expunged because they fail to appeal within the allotted time frame, what happens to their info? Does their content stay and it just appears as posted by "former member"? Or does all of their content get expunged, too, so it's like they were never a part of the community at all?

  • It depends on the configuration of the abuse process. In Administration > Moderation > Moderation Options, there is a set of options under "Member Account Protection":

    • Account Age Expunge Threshold -- if the account is older than this number of days, the account will be disapproved instead of being deleted.
    • Posts Expunge Threshold -- if the account has more than this number of posts, the account will be disapproved instead of being deleted.

    If neither of those criteria are met, the account along with all of its content will be deleted.

  • Thanks, but I need a few more specifics so 2 follow ups. (This is for our legal team, so that's why I'm drilling down on this)

    1. What does disapproved mean? I've read this resource but it doesn't tell me what happens to the user information when a member is disapproved? What DISPLAYS? Their name? Their former posts? How is it rendered? 

    2. When an account is expunged, just need to confirm (again, for our legal team), what gets expunged? EVERYTHING? So from a GDPR perspective, everything is gone?

    Thank you!!

  • What does disapproved mean? I've read this resource but it doesn't tell me what happens to the user information when a member is disapproved? What DISPLAYS? Their name? Their former posts? How is it rendered? 

    A disapproved user's content and account remains on the site, however, the user cannot log in.

    2. When an account is expunged, just need to confirm (again, for our legal team), what gets expunged? EVERYTHING? So from a GDPR perspective, everything is gone?

    The user's account and all of their content (including friendships, bookmarks, posts, likes, etc). Everything related to the user is gone.

  • We're having issues with this too, mostly related to minor fall-outs between users, who then report each other as abusive, and have made up again by the time our moderators can act(!) So users, sometimes significant ones, are getting messages that their accounts will be deleted if they don't appeal quickly, and it's all about spats that are already over. But they won't be deleted anyway, because those users are way, way over the thresholds. So shouldn't they be getting more appropriate messages, to protect our moderators from getting enquiries from panicked users?

    Presumably those wordings can be set in strings somewhere and thus toned down. But it would be useful to be able to show different messages to users whose accounts will and will not actually be deleted, as opposed to suspended (disapproved).

    Also, because this is sometimes about following up individual enquiries, and what happens depends in part on users' reputations, I'd want as a moderator/administrator to be able to see a user's actual reputation score in the admin interface. I suppose that's what "7 points" on the profile page means, and the administrator can view that, but it's not the most accessible place.