Active Directory users can be synchronized with Telligent Community site-level roles. As members are added to Active Directory groups, they will be added to the corresponding role in Telligent Community. As members are removed from Active Directory groups, they will be removed from the corresponding role in Telligent Community.
An Active Directory group's membership can easily be synchronized with a Telligent Community role.
First, a few notes:
To setup a synchronized role:
Active Directory group synchronization can be disabled by deleting the associated site role:
If you delete the site role to remove the Active Directory group, the individual Telligent Community accounts will continue to be active. The users will be able to access the community, but all of their memberships related to the Active Directory group synchronized role will be removed.
Because the role membership is synchronized with Active Directory and Active Directory is the source of the membership information, the user must be removed from the Active Directory group in Active Directory.
The default configuration for the LDAP synchronization job is to run every morning at 4 a.m. The time can be changed in Administration:
Active Directory groups with more than 500 users will be updated every 24 hours. Following our recommended configuration, you can add Active Directory groups with up to 10,000 members. For Active Directory groups with more than 10,000 users, please contact Customer Support.