Groups define areas of interest for your community and allow you to control content type and access for community members. You can define a group hierarchy with virtually any number of groups and levels of subgroups.
- Joinless - Membership is not tracked, and permissions are managed using site-level roles.
- Public open - Everyone can see the group and all content, and can join without approval.
- Public closed - Everyone can see the group and all content, but must apply to join and be approved to become members.
- Private listed - Only members can see the group and content. Everyone can see just the group name and description. Users must apply and be approved to become members.
- Private unlisted - Only members know the group exists and can see the group and its content. All others must be invited to join to become members.
Telligent Community ships with one group by default, the Site Root group. Site Root is a joinless group with no parent. It is a required group for all community sites, as it provides the overarching parent group for all other groups. It cannot be deleted.
In release 10, Community does not set up the Administrators group. This group formerly only housed the Deleted Posts forum. Deleted Posts is no longer necessary with the new Moderation, abuse and spam system.
Groups can include zero or more of each application type (blog, wiki, forum, file gallery), depending on the requirements for each group. Read more about group configuration options here.
As an administrator, you can:
- Create a group.
- Customize the look and feel of a group by changing the group theme, landing page layouts, and widgets.
- Configure applications in a group.
- Edit a member's type of group membership.
- Delete a group.
For more information about applications, please see What is an application?.