A group member's membership type determines his/her permissions within that group. For example, a group member with the Registered User role will inherit all of the permissions assigned as below to any Registered user. If this member is given the group membership type of manager or owner, his/her permissions within the scope of the group increase to that level.
The applications you add to the group will use the default permissions at the group level. If you modify permissions at this level, the modified permissions will not take effect in any existing group applications; however, any applications you add after modifying the group-level permission will inherit the modified permissions.
Note that if you feel permissions for the group are behaving erratically, you may want to consider reverting group role permissions back to the defaults. This reversion will restore default role permissions from the site.
- Navigate to Control Panel > System Administration > Group Administration > Groups > (group name) > Edit > Permissions.
Select the role from the Role drop-down list. The default permissions are displayed in the Granted Permissions window.
- Select the group permission(s) you want to change and move it from Available Permissions to Granted Permissions or vice versa. The following list summarizes what each group permission does.
- Group - Access Control Panel - Role can access the Control Panel and administer group settings, including some areas required for managing individual applications.
- Group - Create New Blogs - Role can create new blogs.
- Group - Create New Forums - Role can create new forums.
- Group - Create New Groups - Role can create new groups. Used in conjunction with Group - Edit Group Settings to move a group from one parent to another.
- Group - Create New Media Galleries - Role can create new media gallery.
- Group - Create New Wikis - Role can create a new wiki.
- Group - Delete Blogs - Role can delete blogs.
- Group - Delete Forums - Role can delete forums.
- Group - Delete Groups - Role can delete groups.
- Group - Delete Media Galleries - Role can delete media galleries.
- Group - Delete Wikis - Role can delete wikis.
- Group - Edit Group Settings - Role can manage group settings, applications, and activity messages. Used in conjunction with Group - Create New Groups to move a group from one parent to another. Having this permission at the root level also grants ability to create joinless groups.
- Group - Edit Theme - Role can modify theme pages, import/export theme configuration, and change the theme for a group.
- Group - Join Group - Role can join a group without owner or manager approval.
- Group - Join Group By request - Role can request membership to a group from the olwner or manager.
- Group - Manage abuse - Role can view and manage the appeal queue items.
- Group - Manage Content Pages - Role can add, edit, and delete custom pages within the context of a group.
- Group - Manage Membership - Role can manage group membership (add, delete, accept, reject, and invite members).
- Group - Read Content - Role can view and search group information such as the home page, activity messages, and group RSS feed.
- Group - Read Group Members - Role can view a group's list of members.
- Group - Read Group Names in Lists - Role can view group names in lists and search queries.
- Click Save.