Is it possible to set a certain group of users to Read Only on the community platform, where ALL engagement capabilities are disabled (i.e. likes, commenting, replying, voting, etc)?
This should be doable with role permissions, if you remove all but read permissions from the desired roles. I would recommend testing this to see what fits your desired use case, as a certain group may be able to override this if the group explicity provides edit permissions to that role.
Roles and their related permissions can be managed at Administration > Membership > Roles.
Thank you for your reply. I've just tested this and can confirm that in part some aspects are read only. However as Patrick has pointed out I found that there were some engagement functionality that were still present (e.g. likes, replying to status messages, voting on comments against blog and forum posts and creating a group status message).